Skip to content
Exploring the heritage of Turvey and its people
You are here:
All Saints Church Bells and Clock
All Saints has a peal of eight bells, some dating from the 17th century. The clock dates from the late 19th century.
All Saints Church: A Historical Summary
All Saints Church has stood at the heart of Turvey for over 1000 years. Here we explore the changes the church has undergone in that time, and discuss some of the main features of historical interest in the church.
All Saints’ Church Organ
The history of the Hill organ in All Saints Church, from its presentation to the church in 1838, up to the present day.
An Introduction to Turvey Congregational Chapel
In 1828 forty people abandoned the Parish Church and met in a barn on Mill Green. There was soon support to build an independent Chapel. The opening service was held on 17th March 1829 with over 300 people attending.
It has been the tradition in most cultures and faiths to give thanks for a harvest safely gathered in to provide food for the community during the lean months of the winter.
The Old Chapel in Carlton Road (Independent Wesleyan)
A history of the Independent Wesleyan Chapel from its inception in 1828 until its conversion to a residential property.
What led to the establishment of a Congregational Chapel in Turvey?
In 1827 the Rev. Legh Richmond who had been the much loved Rector of Turvey for over twenty years, died. Legh Richmond had been an Evangelical Anglican but his successor, the Rev. Hawksley, was not.
Stories in the Landscape
Buildings, Monuments and Features
Events and Traditions
Health and Society
Leisure and Recreation
Trade and Industry
Turvey Through Time